Skip to content

The Mother Of All Bad Beats!

August 20, 2013
The hand that beat me!

The hand that beat me!

Recently in Calgary I got knocked out of my ‘warm-up’ first event, a 330 Bounty Tourney, but that is not what really stung. It was the hand that I busted that really haunts me. It could possibly be the mother of all bad beats and I can’t get it out of my head.

I was dealt ducks (2-2) and my opponent was holding A-5 off suit. Although I played the hand the correct way, my opponent flopped trips with A-A-2 on the board but I still had the full house.

On the turn came a K. I am still clearly ahead. All the money went in at this point. All this after a raise, re-raise and call on the flop and a big bet on the flop as well.

The river comes and it’s another K making my opponent have the bigger full house!! Ouch!!

This hand was incredible! My opponent had to not only flop trips but also still catch the turn AND the river! He had 4 outs on the turn and 7 outs on the river which is 16% equity on the turn for him, 14% equity on the river and the chance of flopping trips without holding a pocket pair is way below 10%!

Those probabilities combined only gave him a chance to win of 0.0022 or 0.2%!! Then there was the fact that he has to call my raise pre-flop which is an awful way to play and a big mistake (especially in a tournament with the hand he was holding regardless of his position at the table and the early stage of the tournament). So basically he capitalized on a 0.2% chance of winning which is not bad.

It was a good thing that this bad beat didn’t happen in the main event. However I can take comfort in knowing that every time a horrendous bad beat happens to a player you have collected one more and it is less likely that you will get another one any time soon. 🙂

On the upside, I did make a nice profit in the 2/5/10 cash game that I played afterwards so I am still up cash-wise even after this experience.

So I promise this is the last bad beat story from me. No more. I know how annoying it is as a poker player to listen to other players’ bad beat stories. I don’t want to become one of those players who drag their bad beat stories all over town…

But since this is going to be my last bad beat story, it has to carry something big that will stand through space and time (really transcendent, ha, ha).

Recently Norman Chad, one of my all time favorite poker commentators, made a comment on day 3 at the 2013 WSOP when a guy flopped a full house (like I did) and lost to a bigger boat on the turn for all his chips and thus his main event tournament life and I think that quote is appropriate here:

“This game is unforgiving. You flop the nuts and a few minutes later you flop it out of here…”

bad-beat-cousins-of-ron-mexico
Comments are closed.

