Skip to content

Culinary Experiences: Tokyo, Japan

February 17, 2013
Sashimi

Sashimi: raw fish with soy sauce & wasabi, garnished with edible flowers, and served on a bed of ice!

I am here in Tokyo at the moment (CLICK HERE to read my World Travels: Japan blog) and wanted to write a quick blog about the food here in Japan. Now Japanese food is world renown for not only being healthy for you but also for looking more like a piece of art than food. The Japanese hold the art of presentation of your meal in just as much regard as what’s in it.

A quiet corner of the restaurant

A quiet corner of the restaurant

The ingredients are top quality, the portion size is small, and the meal is well-balanced. Even children are sent to school with Bento boxes for lunch that look they belong in an art museum (You can CLICK HERE if you want to see more about that). The meals are based around rice and miso with an emphasis on fish and seasonal ingredients. This is their culture and it’s been that way forever.

A cool picture of the chef hard at work!

A cool picture of the chef hard at work!

So now I would love to share with you some meals that I have eaten here in Tokyo. By the way, the very first picture is some beautiful sashimi that I had which is raw fish with soy sauce and wasabi, garnished with edible flowers and served on a bed of ice. Wonderful!

The appetizer or a painting?

The appetizer or a painting?

This appetizer was really yummy but I can’t really say what it was. 🙂 The pink stuff was soft tofu, which was delicious, but I thought that this looked more like a painting than an appetizer.

Tempura

Tempura

Tempura most people know well. It’s a thin egg batter over shrimp, fish and veggies and then quickly deep fried. It’s served with a tempura sauce with ginger relish and sea salt.

Grilled Fish

Grilled Fish

The photo above is a fantastic grilled fish that was done to perfection. It had herbs and veggies on the side as a garnish.

Braised beef

Braised beef

This braised beef was so tender that it could be cut with just my chopsticks! Amazing!

Salmon Nigiri Sushi & Crab Salad Maki Sushi

Salmon Nigiri Sushi & Crab Salad Maki Sushi

Above is Salmon Nigiri Sushi & Crab Salad Maki Sushi. The best drink pairing I’ve found for sushi other than green tea is beer. Asahi was my ‘catch of the day’ to go with this meal. Are you hungry yet? 🙂

Dessert!

Dessert!

For dessert a healthy piece of melon with strawberries and, of course, green tea.

My surprise meal!

Now at another restaurant I wanted some fish, chicken or beef to eat but as my Japanese was as good as the waitresses English (non-existent) I picked from the menu and got this. It seemed to be totally vegetarian – cold noodles with crunchy seaweed and a spicy soup. Never the less it was really good and in the end some locals invited me for a beer with them. It was lots of fun!

The menu!

The menu!

I think you can see why I had no idea what I’d ordered. I am sure, however, that on that menu somewhere is the fish that I was looking for! 🙂

A wonderfully yummy chicken noodle soup!

A wonderfully yummy chicken noodle soup!

Sake anyone?

Sake anyone?

The two pictures above were a great chicken noodle soup I had for lunch the other day and a cool picture of the bar at one of the restaurants. I am assuming that most of those bottles are Sake, a rice wine that they usually drink warm.

Menu choices

Menu choices

I couldn’t read the menu at the above restaurant either but at least they had ‘model’ food to point to and pick from. 🙂 Stay tuned for my next blog from Japan coming up real soon!

Read my World Travels: Japan blog by clicking here!

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. City Hopper: Tokyo « The Swiss Rock

Comments are closed.

